Can’t make it to the ATHENA Awards? Watch the Livestream of the event here!

Livestream starts at 12:10pm on Tuesday, November 28, 2023.

Tuesday, November 28, 2023
11:00 am - 1:30 pm

Stockton Golf and Country Club
3800 W. Country Club Blvd
Stockton, CA 95207

The 2023 ATHENA Awards Luncheon is SOLD OUT! To get added to the waiting list please call (209) 547-2770 or email tiffany@stocktonchamber.org.

ATHENA AWARDS 2023 Nominations

The ATHENA Nomination deadline has been extended to 3:00pm Friday, August 18, 2023.



Leticia Robles

Pacific Homecare Services

Leticia Robles was born to immigrant parents from Mexico and is the youngest of nine children. She attended University of the Pacific as a first-generation student and earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administrative. After graduating she spent 12 years with Junior Achievement, a nonprofit that teaches young people career readiness as well as financial literacy, six of those years she was the organization’s Vice President for development. Later, she moved on to become an interpreter for Valley Mountain Regional Center.

In 2005, while working as an interpreter, Leticia noticed the difficulties that many Spanish-speaking families faced while navigating their loved ones’ care. She took action and founded Pacific Homecare Services, an organization that provides in-home care for seniors and developmentally disable patients. Leticia has served as president for nearly 20 years and has created an uplifting work environment, where employees are empowered to grow personally and professionally. With seven locations and more than 6,000 employees serving thousands of Northern California families, Pacific Homecare Services is a leader in the home care industry and in the Stockton community. Even with a growing business, Leticia has found time to start two more businesses that provide transportation and fingerprinting services. She also serves on the boards of the Children’s Home of Stockton, United Way of San Joaquin County, and Sutter Health Valley Area. In the past, she has also served as board member of the Haggin Museum and the Red Rhino Outreach Project. Many describe her as an empowering, inspiring, and generous leader.


Erika Hermosillo

Reinvent Stockton Foundation

Erika Hermosillo is an educator, activist, parent, and wife; born and raised in the Central Valley of California. She is a first-generation college graduate and has earned a B.A. in Psychology at the University of the Pacific and M.Ed. in Elementary Education and Teaching at the University of Missouri-St. Louis. After graduating, she completed two service terms as an AmeriCorps member, through Teach for America (TFA), serving as a teacher. She even spent 10+ years in education in various capacities as an educator, program provider, and school district staff to help coach future educators in managing classroom settings with at risk youth. From a young age she understood that the health of a person is inextricably linked with community. This is why she is a Steering Committee Member for Alternatives to Violence Prevention (AVP), and she specifically conducts AVP workshops at Mule Creek State Prison in Ione, California, 1-2x per month.

Erika is currently the Chief Program Officer for two programs at Reinvent Stockton Foundation – Stockton Service Corps (SSC) and Stockton Scholars (SS). Due to the impacts of COVID-19, she recognized the need for SS students and SSC members to have access to free and consistent mental health support. Thus, initiating a partnership with Tbh, a virtual program focused on offering individual and group counseling to students. Erika has had many achievements, one of them being awarded the “Outstanding Service Program Staff Member Award” for America’s Service Commissions (ASC)’s Innovation and Leadership Awards in 2022 for her work in establishing an Emergency Fund for service fellows in SSC. Throughout her career we can see that service has always been at the core.


ATHENA International was founded in 1982 by Martha Mayhood Mertz, who was the keynote speaker at the Stockton Chamber’s 25th Annual ATHENA Awards Luncheon. ATHENA International partners with hundreds of chambers of commerce, colleges & universities, corporations, women’s organizations and affiliate communities in 48 states and 11 countries. Almost 8,000 leaders have been recognized with the ATHENA Leadership award in over 500 regions worldwide. The Greater Stockton Chamber of Commerce is home to one of the longest running ATHENA programs in the nation, with the first Stockton ATHENA Award being presented in 1986. The ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award was introduced locally in November 2010.

The annual ATHENA Award honors individuals who strive toward the highest levels of accomplishment, excel in their chosen business or profession, have demonstrated support for the advancement of business and professional women, have devoted time and energy to their community, and have actively mentored others.

The ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award is dedicated to recognizing the next generation of women leaders in San Joaquin County. The award will honor an individual who has demonstrated excellence, creativity, and initiative in her business or profession; provides valuable service to improve the quality of life for others in her community; and clearly serves as a role model for young women personally and professionally. Nominee must be younger than 40 years old on October 1st of the Award Year.

For more information, contact the Greater Stockton Chamber of Commerce at (209) 547-2770.

ATHENA and ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award scoring is based on ATHENA International Guidelines. Selection Committee is made up of Past ATHENA honorees and community members who may not serve on the committee consecutive years.

Many Thanks to Our 2023 Sponsors!




Jane Butterfield

Kathleen Lagorio Janssen


Fritz & Phyllis Grupe

Ulmer Photo


Children's Home of Stockton

Reinvent Stockton Foundation


Stagg High School FFA


1986 Judy Chambers

1987 Cyril Seligman

1988 Susan Carson

1989 Marian Jacobs

1990 Karen Munro

1991 Iva Harris

1992 Janice Marengo

1993 Bobbie Fasano

1994 Kathy Janssen

1995 Kathryn Rousek Smith

1996 Jeanette Michaels

1997 Judith Buethe

1999 Ann Johnston

2000 Connemara Reisinger

2001 Charlynn Harless

2002 Kristen Birtwhistle

2003 Hedy Holmes

2004 Jeanne Zolezzi

2005 Jane Butterfield

2006 Hazel Hill

2007 Susan Lenz

2008 Mary Bava

2009 Judge Consuelo “Connie” Callahan

2010 Dea Berberian

2011 Sara Garfield

2012 Phyllis Grupe

2013 Kathy Hart

2014 Joelle Gomez

2015 Dr. Pamela Eibeck

2016 Carol Ornelas

2017 Gillian Murphy

2018 Occeletta Briggs

2019 Lindy Turner-Hardin

2021 Suzanne Schultz

2022 Jane Steinkamp

No ATHENA Leadership Award was awarded in 2020


2010 Nikki Lowery

2011 Angela Rosenquist

2012 Jennifer Torres Siders

2013 Monica Streeter

2014 Shelby Moran (Riley)

2015 Brenna Butler Garcia

2016 Erin Guy Castillo

2017 Kristen Dyke

2019 Frances Richardson

2021 Anna Sass

2022 Jamie Bossuat

No Young Professional Leadership Award was awarded in 2018 or 2020


© web design by one eleven stockton, ca