Stocktonian of the Year logo

Thursday, June 11, 2024
Honoring Sharon Benninger
Stockton Golf & Country Club
3800 W. Country Club Blvd.
Stockton, CA 95204

Ticket & Sponsorship information coming soon…

Sharon Benninger

70th Stocktonian of the Year

On Tuesday, December 19, 2023 members of the Central Valley Association of REALTORS® Stockton Council (CVAR), Stockton Chamber of Commerce, and Past Stocktonian’s of the Year surprised Sharon Benninger with the news she had been chosen as the 70th Stocktonian of the Year.

The Central Valley Association of REALTORS® Stockton Council (CVAR) and The Greater Stockton Chamber of Commerce honor a local citizen each year as the “Stocktonian of the Year” and the 2023 recipient Sharon Benninger will join the ranks as the 70th “Stocktonian”. The Stocktonian of the Year Award honors those individuals who embody the spirit of volunteerism and who have conscientiously served and positively impacted the community. This program strives to recognize those who are making a difference in our City and who do not typically seek or receive recognition for their efforts. The “Stocktonian of the Year” recognizes an individual for their acts of goodness, extensive community involvement and continual devotion to the betterment of Stockton, outside of their paid positions. Sharon will be honored at a banquet later in 2024, banquet date to be announced in early 2024.

Sharon Benninger has been an avid volunteer within Stockton ever since she retired as an elementary school teacher. Since her retirement, she has co-founded 2 organizations Hospice of San Joaquin Butterfly Auxiliary and Uplift All Foundation/Loads of Hope, whose unique mission is to enrich the quality of life of the unhoused and those in need. This work is done through many programs such as mobile laundry services, personal enrichment classes, self-affirming activities for women and children, support sessions, winter drives and many more. She is even the founding member of United Ways’ Andy’s Angels.

Sharon has spent quite few years fundraising, and has helped to fundraise millions of dollars in support of different organization such as Hospice of San Joaquin, Uplift All Foundation, Gospel Center Rescue Mission, and St. Mary’s Dining Hall. When talks of opening a Hospice House in Stockton started back in 2002, Sharon helped to spearhead fundraisers to get this project accomplished. She wanted to “…start now, so the community can become involved in building the House.” Sharon always has the community in the forefront of her plans.

Her greatest contribution to the Stockton community is her compassion and concern for the less fortunate. You can always find Sharon passing out blankets, clothes, toiletries and tents to people who are living on the street. Our unhoused community even knows her as the coffee lady because she frequently visits encampments throughout the city to serve hot coffee. She even hosts special celebrations including graduations, weddings for the unhoused, Father’s/Mother’s Day for St. Mary’s Dining, and Christmas sock drives; to help enhance their lives. These are just a few things Sharon has accomplished and it gives reasoning behind why she is often described as “Stockton’s Angel”.

For questions please contact the Central Valley Association of Realtors at (209) 858-1700


1954 J. Corbin Shepher *

1955 Dean Decarli *

1956 Harvey Stull *

1957 Fred Bitterman *

1958 George Ernest *

1959 J. A. Simpson *

1960 Jacob Fetzer *

1961 Emerson French *

1962 Harold Nelson *

1963 Jack O’Keefe *

1964 Reed Robbins *

1965 Fred Schneider *

1966 Michael Canlis *

1967 B. L. (Bernie) Faunce *

1968 Laurence Drivon *

1969 Ort Lofthus *

1970 Pearl West *

1971 John Cecchini *

1972 Eugene Castles *

1973 D. David Smith *

1974 Warren Atherton *

1975 Robert Eberhardt *

1976 Stuart Gibbons *

1977 Sgt. Pat Noble

1978 Marian Jacobs *

1979 Alex G. Spanos *

1980 Thelma Stewart *

1981 Don Schrader

1982 Helen Verber Crane

1983 Bing Wallace *

1984 Fritz Grupe

1985 Leo D’ Or *

1986 Dr. Virgil Gianelli *

1987 Dr. Joseph B. Serra

1988 Rudy Croce

1989 Mimi Eberhardt

1990 Dr. Guillermo C. Vicuna *

1991 Bob Whittington *

1992 Floyd Weaver *

1993 Don Stewart *

1994 Gerri Dunlap *

1995 Dennis “Don” Geiger

1996 Bob Kavanaugh *

1997 Sharon Simas

1998 Ross Bewley *

1999 David Brewer *

2000 Ray Baglietto *

2001 C. Joseph Crane *

2002 Phyllis Grupe

2003 Edward Coy *

2004 Kathleen Lagorio Janssen

2005 Dino Cortopassi *

2006 Douglass Wilhoit

2007 Douglass M Eberhardt *

2008 David Rea *

2009 Robert Foy *

2010 John F. Quinn

2011 Becky Mizener

2012 Andy Prokop

2013 Jane Butterfield

2014 Tim Ulmer

2015 Mel Corren

2016 Fred Weibel

2017 Elizabeth Yip Lee Blanchard

2018 Duane Isetti

2019 Beverly Fitch McCarthy *

2020 Benjamin J. Reddish Jr. **

2021 Donald J. Wiley

2022 Michael P. Duffy

2023 Sharon Benninger




© web design by one eleven stockton, ca