Missed the 2022 ATHENA Awards?  Watch it here!!  Please click on the video below to watch the inspiring event (program starts at the 10:30 mark). 

2022 ATHENA Awards 
Thursday, November 17, 2022
11:00am – 1:30pm
Stockton Golf & Country Club
3800 W Country Club Blvd., Stockton

Event is SOLD OUT.

To be added to the waiting list please contact Carolyn Teixeira Gomes, (209) 292-8426 or

There will be a livestream for those that cannot attend.

2022 ATHENA Recipient
Jane Steinkamp
San Joaquin County Office of Education

2022 ATHENA Young Professional Recipient
Jamie Bossuat
Kroloff, Belcher, Smart, Perry & Christopherson

Annual ATHENA Awards Luncheon

ATHENA International was founded in 1982 by Martha Mayhood Mertz, who was the keynote speaker at the Stockton Chamber’s 25th Annual ATHENA Awards Luncheon. ATHENA International partners with hundreds of chambers of commerce, colleges & universities, corporations, women’s organizations and affiliate communities in 48 states and 11 countries. Almost 8,000 leaders have been recognized with the ATHENA Leadership award in over 500 regions worldwide.  The Greater Stockton Chamber of Commerce is home to one of the longest running ATHENA programs in the nation, with the first Stockton ATHENA Award being presented in 1986. The ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award was introduced locally in November 2010.   

The annual ATHENA Award honors individuals who strive toward the highest levels of accomplishment, excel in their chosen business or profession, have demonstrated support for the advancement of business and professional women, have devoted time and energy to their community, and have actively mentored others.

The ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award is dedicated to recognizing the next generation of women leaders in San Joaquin County. The award will honor an individual who has demonstrated excellence, creativity, and initiative in her business or profession; provides valuable service to improve the quality of life for others in her community; and clearly serves as a role model for young women personally and professionally. Nominee must be younger than 40 years old on October 1st of the Award Year.

For more information, contact the Greater Stockton Chamber of Commerce at (209) 547-2770.

ATHENA and ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award scoring is based on ATHENA International Guidelines.  Selection Committee is made up of Past ATHENA honorees and community members who may not serve on the committee consecutive years.

Many Thanks To Our Sponsors

Past ATHENA Award Honorees

1986: Judy Chambers
1987: Cyril Seligman
1988: Susan Carson
1989: Marian Jacobs
1990: Karen Munro
1991: Iva Harris
1992: Janice Marengo
1993: Bobbie Fasano
1994: Kathy Janssen
1995: Kathryn Rousek Smith
1996: Jeanette Michaels
1997: Judith Buethe
1999: Ann Johnston
2000: Connemara Reisinger
2001: Charlynn Harless
2002: Kristen Birtwhistle
2003: Hedy Holmes
2004: Jeanne Zolezzi
2005: Jane Butterfield
2006: Hazel Hill
2007: Susan Lenz
2008: Mary Bava
2009: Judge Consuelo “Connie” Callahan
2010: Dea Berberian
2011: Sara Garfield
2012: Phyllis Grupe
2013: Kathy Hart
2014: Joelle Gomez
2015: Dr. Pamela Eibeck
2016: Carol Ornelas
2017: Gillian Murphy
2018: Occeletta Briggs
2019: Lindy Turner-Hardin
2021: Suzanne Schultz
(No ATHENA Leadership  Award was awarded in 2020)

Past ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award Honorees

2010: Nikki Lowery
2011: Angela Rosenquist
2012: Jennifer Torres Siders
2013: Monica Streeter
2014: Shelby Moran (Riley)
2015: Brenna Butler Garcia
2016: Erin Guy Castillo
2017: Kristen Dyke
2019: Frances Richardson
2021: Anna Sass
(No Young Professional Leadership Award was awarded in 2018 or 2020)